Wednesday, 07 June, 2017

Community Health Accreditation Partner (CHAP) Announces the 2018 CHAP Standards of Excellence v.1 for Home Health Providers

June 5, 2017
Contact: Sarah Sonies
Phone: 202-248-5453

Community Health Accreditation Partner (CHAP) Announces the 2018 CHAP Standards of Excellence v.1 for Home Health Providers 

Revised standards will help home health agencies meet the changing Centers for Medicare and Medicaid (CMS) Conditions of Participation (CoPs) that are currently proposed to take effect Jan. 2018

WASHINGTON - Community Health Accreditation Partner (CHAP) today released the 2018 CHAP Standards of Excellence v.1 that will equip home health providers with the tools they need to meet changing CMS requirements, currently proposed to become effective January 13, 2018.

The CHAP Standards of Excellence framework has been redesigned to support a customized approach to accreditation that focuses on the specific types of care and services provided by each organization. In addition, the content of the Standards of Excellence has been updated to better reflect current practices in quality improvement and the home care industry. 

“Our 2018 Standards of Excellence continue to demonstrate CHAP’s leadership and knowledge of the home health care landscape,” said Barbara McCann, Chair CHAP Board of Directors. “As the accreditor of the largest number of Medicare-certified home health organizations CHAP wants to give its Medicare certified partners sufficient support transitioning to the new CoPs.” 

CHAP’s revisions not only reflect national quality improvement initiatives, but are streamlined and will promote strong continuity of care. The 2018 CHAP Standards of Excellence v.1 for home health providers are organized into 14 key performance areas, grouped under three categories – organizational, patient care and safety, and quality of patient care.

All initial and renewing Medicare certified home health providers with site visits on or after the CMS effective date will be evaluated against these standards that also apply to Medicaid providers seeking initial or renewed accreditation in states that require compliance with the CMS home health CoPs.

“These 2018 Standards of Excellence reflect an evolving world of care delivery and are flexible to assist organizations in navigating the current and future state of home and community-based care,”
said Karen J. Collishaw, CAE, President and CHAP CEO.

CHAP is an independent, not-for-profit, accrediting body for community-based health care organizations. Created in 1965, CHAP was the first to recognize the need and value for accreditation in community-based care. As a Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS)—approved accrediting organization, CHAP has the regulatory authority to survey agencies providing home health, hospice, and home medical equipment services, to determine if they meet the Medicare Conditions of Participation and DMEPOS Quality Standards. CHAP’s purpose is to define and advance the highest standards of community-based care. For more information about CHAP and the 2018 Standards of Excellence, visit

Share this news